Locust Hill CC Website Header 3

Past Men's RDGA Players of the Year

Stafford's Jim Scorse, left, was presented with the Men's RDGA Player of the Year Award by RDGA Tournament Director Mike Sorce, right, during the RDGA's annual Fall Event & Awards Program, hosted by AVID Indoor Golf & Fitness at Ridgemont Country Club on October 11.

The Men's RDGA Player of the Year Award

The Rochester District Golf Association began its Player of the Year Award in 1997 as an extension of the RDGA Match Play Championship - as a way of determining a seeding order, as well as a qualifying process, for the Championship.

A schedule of point values were determined for a number of competitive championships, whereby players would accumulate point totals for the entire season. Today, the RDGA Player of the Year Points Schedule consists of 25 events - from RDGA tournaments to State, local and USGA Championships - at which RDGA players can earn points towards the Player of the Year Award.

Now in its 20th season, the Men's RDGA Player of the Year has been dominated by Stafford Country Club's Jim Scorse. Scorse - one of the most consistent competitors in RDGA tournament history. Scorse has earned the RDGA Player of the Year honors for 14 of the first 20 years of the Award - including eight years in a row between 2007 and 2014.

In 2016, Scorse earned 1477 player points, including wins in the RDGA Match Play Championship in May, the New York State Mid Amateur Championship in September, as well as teaming up with Ken Seibold to win the RDGA Two Person Scramble and finishing runner-up to Trevor Sluman in the RDGA District Championship at Ridgemont Country Club in July.

Sluman, who won his third consecutive RDGA District Championship - before playing in the U.S. Amateur and turning professional in August - was the runner-up in Player of the Year points with 807.

To view the Men's RDGA Player of the Year points schedule, CLICK HERE.

To see the final 2016 Men's RDGA Player of the Year Points standings, CLICK HERE.

Season Player of the Year
2016 Jim Scorse
2015 Adam Condello
2014 Jim Scorse
2013 Jim Scorse
2012 Jim Scorse
2011 Jim Scorse
2010 Jim Scorse
2009 Jim Scorse
2008 Jim Scorse
2007 Jim Scorse
2006 John Kircher
2005 Jim Scorse
2004 Andrew DiBitetto
2003 Jim Scorse
2002 Jim Scorse
2001 Jim Scorse
2000 John Kircher
1999 Kevin Haefner
1998 Jason Piurkoski
1997 Jim Scorse

Rochester District Golf Association

2024 West Henrietta Rd, Suite 5H  |  Rochester, NY 14623
(585) 292-5950

Stay Connected